Seven Years of Marriage

Today is my seventh anniversary. I’ve kept with tradition and had a church meeting out of town.

This is the sixth of. Our seven anniversaries that I have not been around. We celebrated each and every one, just not on the date of our wedding. We’re flexible like that. Maybe it’s because we really love each other.

Hauerwas says repeatedly that people do not come to pastors to get married because they are in love. They are in lust, but love? He contends that we won’t know if they love each other until they die. Marriage is hard he continues.

I don’t know if he is right, but I know that Courtney and I have learned to love each other more every day of our marriage, and I plan on keeping it up, as hard as it has been to go through seminary and being broke together, we’ve made it, and being with Courtney has left me feeling blessed.

Courtney deserves better than I’ve given her so far, but each year gets better, and I’m always thankful for her and for the two wonderful girls we have!

Leave a Reply

